Semester 5 + Neuro Update

It has been a few months since I’ve posted an update. For those of you who read this, I’ve been so busy with school, scholarship applications, teaching, my thesis proposal, etc. that I haven’t had time. The first semester of my junior year wrapped up with a 4.1, resulting in a 3.96 overall cumulative GPA. I have been looking at grad schools and am now preparing for the GRE as well. It felt like the semester really flew by, and there were no real health mishaps, thankfully, too. I taught and TAed for several classes again, and can only hope that at the very least, my freshmen learned proper email etiquette.

My thesis has been IRB approved, and I interview my first family next month! Only two of my classes are in-person this semester so that I have enough time and flexibility to meet with families, and the rest are online. It’s strange not getting up and going to class every day, and going to my favorite coffee shop (shout out to The Blend), to do online coursework instead.

I had my latest scan in the end of December and had it reviewed in January – still stable and in the clear. I’ll go back in another six months. There was a bit of a snafu with bringing the CDs back to Arizona from Nevada where the scan took place, as the imaging center copied an old scan on the disc that I took back instead of the most recent one. So, I spent the entire appointment with my neuro onc comparing the same MRI to itself before my doctor realized the dates of the scans were the same. The correct disc was then sent to Arizona, and my doctor graciously reviewed the scan and called to talk to me over the phone about what she saw. Or rather, didn’t see!

I’ve become more selective in the projects that I am taking on, and it feels good to be empowered enough to say no to things that I simply don’t have the energy or cannot dedicate the proper amount of time to, and yes to the things that I feel passionate about in 2015 and 2016. I have a few announcements coming up over the course of the next month or so, so stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

