MRI – What If My Brain Tumor Respawns?

Typical college distractions include struggling with time management and substance abuse. My biggest distraction in college? Waiting to hear if I have a reccurrence.

What would an active college student do upon reoccurrence? From what I’ve heard they would take a year off, start online classes, or eventually just graduate late. Of my friends who are battling reoccurrences, most are still enrolled in college in one way or another.

A reoccurrence would mean starting a whole new life, again.

The thing is, my MRI looks completely fine. Or at least it looks fine to me. The surgical cavity is still pitch black. No new white or bright spots, no new wisps around or within. In fact, this MRI looks better than the last because it doesn’t have an artifact on the scan to scare me. Although the worries might not be warranted, they still exist. Two friends (and fellow cancer survivors!) accompanied me to the appointment yesterday. MRIs are always better with ice cream and friends.

mri

I sent a package with the MRI on a disc and a note enclosed to UCSF today. The package should arrive in San Francisco on Thursday, September 27th. Coincidentally, I was originally diagnosed with a brain tumor sometime between September 25th and the 29th in 2007 (as time goes on have forgotten which exact day it was). I hope to hear back from my doc by October 4th.

One thought on “MRI – What If My Brain Tumor Respawns?

  1. Man. I still can’t look at my MRI’s. I don’t know if it’s because I know my NS didn’t get it all…that I am not “eligible” for chemo/radiation to get the rest…or just plain anxiety or what. ALL the best!

Leave a Reply

