Disability Resource Center

Today I went to a meeting at the Disability Resource Center on campus. I felt at home amongst all of the other students with visible and invisible illnesses. Half of the people there “looked” just like me – no visible cues to distinguish us from the rest of the college students. Although we looked “the same” as everyone else, there was an unspoken understanding that we all weren’t the same as the other students here on campus.

I learned that students aren’t required to tell their teachers the reason for their registration with the disability resource center…whoops! I sent an email to all of my professors explaining my accommodations and why I needed them last week. I didn’t realize that professors are obligated to follow confidentiality agreements and whatnot about students who are registered with the disability resource center. I guess I’ll just have to wait and see if the extra email information works for or against me.

There was an organizations and club fair today where I signed up for the neuroscience society. Yes, that’s a real thing here. They discuss TED talks and even have neurologists come in as guest speakers! Eerily, their first meeting of the year is the same day and my one year cranioversary. I signed up for the ultimate frisbee team as well as community service related groups as well.

School starts tomorrow morning…here I go.

10 thoughts on “Disability Resource Center

  1. Glad you are getting involved! I want to say how much I enjoy the way you discuss the process of “confiding” and that you shared with your profs prior to any directions. When I was in college, I found that my life was substantially easier due to informing my profs that I’m bipolar, that I’d lost my Mom and cared for my sister, etc. As a teacher, I feel that kind of information from students is truly helpful to serve them better and respect the need for extensions, etc. I hope your openness with them will serve you well.

    As for confiding, I have a similar experience. It’s hard to know with whom you can share and not scare them off or be treated with pity, etc. I didn’t tell most of my colleagues about my cranio beforehand because I needed to keep my circle small and avoid lots of “I’m so sorry” stuff. Now that I’m through the bulk of it (still nursing my left hand and foot, slurring when I’m tired), I feel more comfortable sharing my experience. While sometimes it’s selfish (bragging rights! badge of courage), mostly I’m doing it so that if something looks off, people will know why. Or, worse, if I slur or collapse or the like, they can inform the medical personnel. I know I’m usually optimistic, but I think it’s important to plan for the ugly possibilities, too… within reason. Do you wear a med alert necklace or bracelet for your seizures? I did for my tumor and it helped b/c people would ask about it– took the onus of the conversation off of me. I’m so glad you had a positive experience with your 2 dorm mates–that’s important! You are a brave chica! Keep up the good fight! I used to sleep all the time in college, too. Once things get rolling you won’t be the only one seeking out every nap you can get. 😉 [This is Wheatley, in case you didn’t already guess]

    • Thanks Wheatley! It’s valuable knowledge to hear your viewpoints as a former college student, teacher, and brain tumor buddy. We’re in this for the long haul!

      Yes, I do wear a medical alert bracelet. I let all of my professors know about the bracelet ahead of time in case something were to go wrong in class. It says seizures, cranio. with the date of my surgery, and my last name with an emergency contact number. Oddly enough, none of my peers have outright asked about the bracelet! It’s not very obvious though, as it isn’t a big metal chain, but rather a thin, rubber-type bracelet.

Leave a Reply

